“Fourth of July” Layered Cake

Another holiday is coming up…Independence Day!

We have always celebrated the fourth of July by going down to the lake at night and watching the fireworks and having a cookout with friends or family. This year, I wanted to do something special to celebrate. I saw this cake on a blog called 17 and Baking. I liked the original idea of the cake, but I wanted to change it up a bit.

**DISCLAIMER** I, by no means, am a professional baker. I know I said this when I made my Tangled Tower Cake, but I just want to make everyone aware that you don’t need to be a fancy baker to do what I’m going to do. I don’t have any fancy tools. I make do with what I have in my house.

Here is the finished product:

Finished Flag Cake

ITEMS NEEDED:

  • 9 inch baking pan (4 would be best, but if you don’t have that many, just reuse the ones you have…it’ll just take a little longer…that’s what I did)
  • 2 boxed packages of white cake
  • 3 standard tubs of white frosting
  • long piece of string/floss
  • food coloring

Time to bake! I mixed up the first box of white cake. I added red food coloring. I used TONS of food coloring, but it seemed to stay a little pink. I have never worked with red velvet cake, so I didn’t want to start now. Maybe this would provide a more red color, but I think my red turned out okay. I divided the batter into two 9 inch baking pans and baked as directed on the package. TIP: I spray the pans with cooking spray and dust with flour to make it easier on myself to get it out of the pan once cooked.

Once out of the oven, I cooled it and took it out of the pan.

In the second box I mixed, I split into two bowls, and mixed one with blue food coloring and and the other with red.

3 red pans, 1 blue

I then wrapped all of the cakes in saran wrap and put them in the fridge to really cool off. I left mine overnight because I didn’t have time to do this all in one sitting. Gotta love being a busy mom!

Once out of the refrigerator, I had to cut the red cakes in half (so I had a total of 6 red layers). Instead of spending money on a cake cutter that I would most likely never use again, I learned a little trick from my mother.

  • Take a piece of string or floss
  • Carefully wrap the string around the cake, making sure to be in the middle and even around the cake
  • Cross the string

    Crossing the string

  • Pull evenly as if you were tightening a knot (don’t worry if you feel like you are smushing the cake, you won’t)
  • Once it has gone through the whole cake, just pull the string out from one side
  • It’s cut evenly!

    cut layers

Now it’s time to cut the blue cake! For this I used one of my coffee mugs that happened to be about 4 inches in diameter. If you have a round cookie cutter that size, it would work as well. I put the cup on the edge of the cake so that I could get two circles out of one cake. I just cut around using the cup as a template.

cup for circle template

Next I needed to cut a hole in the red cakes to make room for the blue circle insert. I placed the cut blue cake in the middle of the top of the 3 layers that I needed to cut. I then just cut around the blue cake as a template, making sure to go through all 3 layers.

cutting 3 layers of red for blue insert

ICING TIME!

Do 3 layers of red cake with white frosting in between. The thicker the better to get more even looking “stripes,” but I used 3 regular tubs of frosting, and I didn’t put a super thick layer in between because I knew this thing was going to be sweet already.

red layers with white frosting in between

Once I finished 3 layers, I layered the next 3 with the hole in the middle. I put the blue cake in the middle so that I didn’t over frost and not leave enough space for the cake to be inserted later. I just put both blue circles together with a REALLY small amount of frosting to more or less “glue” them together.

layering with blue cake in middle

When I finished all 6 layers, there was a small amount of blue sticking out at the top. I just used the string again to even it all out.

all layers on with blue in middle

Then I just frosted the entire cake with the white frosting. Like the other blogger did with her cake, I just left it plain and white. I like the idea of not decorating the outside since the inside is what is special about the cake.

frosted cake

As far as difficulty in creating this cake, I think it was actually quite simple. The main thing to remember is to keep the cakes cool so frosting it is easier.

Cutting a piece of this cake is the best part!

cutting the cake!

piece of the flag cake

I hope this is as big of a hit at our holiday get together as it is to me. And if it isn’t…I get a 6 layer cake all to myself!

Leave a Reply

