Mother’s Day Thanks

Yesterday was Mother’s Day. 

My day started with breakfast in bed made by my two beautiful daughters, already dressed for the day with their hair done, homemade cards in hand, flowers freshly picked. 

Oh wait.  That was what I was dreaming about. 

My ACTUAL day began with rushing around the house, trying to make sure everyone got out of the house with clothes on, piling into the van filled with a day’s worth of mother’s day gifts, clothes, diapers, food.  As we back out of the driveway, my car feels…off.  I park.  Lo and behold, my tire is flat.  Of course.  What a way to start the day.

I am thankful that we have another vehicle, but it just wasn’t my favorite mother’s day beginning.

The rest of the day was spent with minor adjustments, but I had a lot of fun because I honestly am working on this concept of “no complaining.”  It’s not easy.  I can’t say I’m great at it either.  I’ve been washed up in negativity for so long, though, that I’m doing my best to see the good in things.  I hear a lot of excuses and anger from people everywhere, that I’m over it.  I almost tune out when someone starts in on mean-spirited topics.  So on this mother’s day (or day after mother’s day), I want to point out what I’m thankful for having in my life.  Hopefully we can all look at some good things in our lives instead of always pointing out the negatives.

  • I’m thankful for my faith.
  • I’m thankful for my mommy 🙂 and my daughters.  Before I was a mom, I don’t think I understood all of the things my mother did does for me.  She is truly an amazing woman.
  • I’m thankful for my healthy family.  We all have our ups and downs, but we all are able to get out of bed in the morning.
  • I’m thankful for the support that I receive from my family and friends. 
  • There have been people that have come in and out of my life.  I’m thankful for these people, too, because they have taught me how to appreciate those in my life that have chosen to stay here.
  • I’m thankful for my husband.  He is my best friend.  The father of my children.  My biggest supporter.  I love you.

I could go on all day.  I just wanted to write down a couple of things that I appreciate for my sake and maybe to get others to think about things in their lives that they value. 

I hope all of the mothers enjoyed a day that was made a little more special because being a mother is one of the toughest “jobs” in the world.

Leave a Reply

