New Month, New Goals

It’s June 1st!  I am a person to make new years resolutions and stick to them for a whole 2 days before deciding that those resolutions aren’t smart.  If you want to do something like “get in shape” or “save more money,” you shouldn’t need to wait for January 1st to start.  Start now!  I was on an extremely strict “diet” during April in order to train for my first half marathon.  I felt amazing.  My friends and I actually ran in tutus from my shop Bobbin’ Along.

Then after my race, I didn’t have a huge goal to continue to strive to keep up the diet.

So earlier this week, I brought up to some people an idea to get back into a little healthier habits that I had lost in the month of May.  I am hoping others will join in on my fun experiment and start being healthier with me!  I do have a triathlon coming up in 3 weeks, so I’m hoping this will kick my butt into gear to start actively training for it.  The rules are SUPER simple.  There is no excuse to not do this.  So let’s do it!!

Here are the 2 (yes only 2!) rules:

Drink 8 glasses of water a day.  One simple tip would be to drink one glass (8 ounces) an hour during work.  If you don’t have a 9-5 job or on the weekends, go about your daily routines, but drink a glass of water before certain activities.  This weekend I will have to do my laundry.  I’m going to drink a glass of water before loading my washing machine (and since I have about 10 loads to do, I will quickly reach my 8 glasses goal!).

Now that you are drinking more water, more frequent trips to the bathroom are inevitable.  This is the only other rule!  Do a SHORT and EASY workout during each bathroom trip during the day.  I have a couple of easy “circuit” workouts to get your body moving in the right direction.  Please feel free to add/subtract different workouts.  If you have some to add, let me know!  I’d love to spice up my workout breaks.

  • 20 squats
  • 20 jumping jacks
  • lunges back to your desk (or from the bathroom to wherever you were coming from)
  • wall sits (count to 30)
  • 20 wall push ups (or real push ups, but I’m giving easy alternatives for those that don’t generally workout a lot)
  • 20 sit ups
  • balance on one leg for 30 seconds

Please note that these don’t have to be hard mini workouts.  If you can’t do that many, that’s fine.  Any amount is better than nothing!  The goal is to do this for the entire month of June.  If it goes past that, AWESOME!  It’s something so simple that should be easy to fit into anyone’s busy life, and believe me, I’m busy.  If I can do it, so can you!

Good luck, and let me know if you are doing it and what works or doesn’t work for you!

 

Leave a Reply

