Just TRI it!

Over the weekend, I was not as active in my sewing adventures because I had an extremely busy weekend filled with everything TRIATHLON!  How and why would someone do a triathlon?  Well, I’m glad you asked…

Finishing my triathlon with my prima ballerina cheering me on at the bottom

After I had my first beautiful daughter, my sister and I started to embark on fun little activities as a sort of challenge to ourselves and a bonding experience.  We used to run in the Firecracker 5k every year as a tradition, but never really trained for anything beyond that.  I have no idea why, but I said one winter that I’d love to do a triathlon and my sister agreed (I’m not sure if it was reluctantly or not, but I don’t think she was mutually excited).  We joined the local YMCA and found a beginners triathlon class for the biking and the swimming.  We were going to take this course for 8 weeks and then go on our own.  Why would we need to keep taking classes?

We asked questions from the other attendants in the class and the instructor.  Then we started talking about everyone’s lives, every day activities, etc.  Something odd started happening…friendships!  I enjoyed going to class every week to talk with these people. 

They talked my sister into a half marathon.  I thought, well that’s silly.  Who would run 13.1 miles?  I went to cheer everyone on and had such a great time, admittedly a little jealous that she achieved this awesome goal while I sat and watched.  We were hooked into this group and stayed in the class.

Daily I went home, telling my hubby about the people in the classes, the next events, and the conversations that left a certain VERY UNDERSTANDING man biting his lip on several occassions in what I can only think of as embarassing to listen to (women – if you have ever cycled, you know what I’m talking about).  My hubby kept hearing about these people and decided to join in on the next Firecracker 5k that the group did.  All these people who only really knew him as my husband, now supported his journey from the sidelines to the finish line.

Then finally came my day.  My FIRST triathlon.  I was nervous.  Swimming half a mile, biking 12 miles, and running 3.1 miles.  My sister ended up unable to compete, but she came at the crack of dawn, along with my cheering section, to wish me luck.

some of my cheering section

I FINISHED! 

I ended up doing 3 triathlons that year, 1 last year, and will do 2 this year.

Triathlon Group-Kenosha

More than that, though, I made AMAZING friends in all of this.  2 1/2 years later, a great deal has changed in my life.  That triathlon class has turned into a terrific group that supports all sorts of activities called Triathlon Group-Kenosha. My husband has turned from a person that thought anyone doing more than a 5k was crazy, to running in marathons and completed his first triathlon last year!  I kept up exercising throughout my second pregnancy (which I definitely did not do with my first) and had my second child, got back into training, and completed the Chicago Marathon 5 months after having her.  Yes, me, who thought my sister was silly for running half of that only a year earlier…  And now someone that is a crafting machine that started her own little business.

I am so grateful for people in my life now.  They have pushed me to becoming someone I never thought I would be or COULD be.  Someone who can TRI!  If it’s a race or a sewing project, I’ve learned that anything in life is possible, if you just TRY.

One thought on “Just TRI it!

  1. Awesome article. Every week I am so excited to see everyone at an event or even just a group run. It is so much more fun and easy to train with a group than on my own. Glad to have met tons of new people and interested to meet more along the way!

Leave a Reply

